top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

A full time job (and more with God)



Throughout pretty much my entire life, I’ve always considered myself to be a busy person. When I was younger, I was enrolled in quite a lot which made it hard to find time for friends and other things. Once I started my undergraduate studies, “busy” had a whole new definition. My busiest semester was my second semester of my junior year. I was taking 19 credits, had two jobs on campus, had to do fieldwork in the school’s public relations office, and not to mention so many other extra clubs. However, the first semester that I was at that school, I found a bible study group. The group was pretty welcoming and I actually learned quite a lot. We all got along pretty well too, and in my sophomore year, one of my friends from the group invited me to a Newsboys concert which was still an unforgettable experience. Back then, I found more time for God and faith itself. I still talked with people about it too. 


Last May or so, I found myself reading my bible everyday. It was something that we always talked about in bible study and it was something that I wanted to try. Those few weeks were great. However, when I began my master’s program at the end of June, I found less time for it, or for anything for that matter. My schedule is absolutely rigorous. Everyday with the exception of Friday, is like a full-time job. Not to mention being on Zoom all day which is just the icing on the cake. Anyway, since I’ve been so busy, I’ve found it hard to have time for anything like I mentioned earlier. For example, my work schedule has changed tremendously. My friend Emily and I used to hang out just about every Sunday, but we haven’t recently. So I guess the only dose of Christianity I was getting was from the music on the radio, or from this Encouraging Women group. It was scary to me, since even though I didn’t read my bible everyday, I was still more involved. I still did see God working in my life but I just felt disconnected.


It wasn’t until last week that that thought hit me hard and really opened my eyes. I was at work, and it seemed just like a typical Thursday. A few minutes after I rang a customer out for his items, he came back into the store. He used our hand sanitizer but kind of just hung around. I was sweeping the floor and asked him if he needed anything. He said he didn’t, but told me he wanted to give me something. In his hand, he had a copy of the new testament and gave it to me. He said “I’m not sure what your religious beliefs are, but I wanted to give you this.” I was absolutely shocked. He told me a little about that specific book and told me about a great bible study app that I could use with the new testament specifically. I was a little bit in awe for a while, as I’m pretty sure that it was God’s sign to me about being disconnected.


From that, I learned that it is vital to include God in your life. It should be 24-7, not just when you want to or when you have time.


"Whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God."



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page