top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

Beauty, Purpose, Gardens

I asked God to give purpose and beauty to my life.

But gardens aren’t beautiful until they’ve felt the rain. Until they’ve lived under the storm clouds for a while.

And gardens grow weeds. They grow and they multiply and they overtake the beauty that was once there.

I think sometimes our own thoughts act as weeds in our garden of life.


We let negative thoughts and negative actions grow and multiply and become the forefront of who we are. We let it get so out of control at times that our garden becomes unrecognizable.

But guess what? The weeds aren’t permanent. They’re weak; easy to remove from the soil.

Our negative thoughts disappear at the sight of our positive ones. Because light always chases out the darkness.

And the rain comes. Some days it sprinkles and others it pours. But often what we think is drowning us is actually breathing life into us.

I’ve spent so much time lately living in regret. This regret is my weeds. The stage of my life that led me here was the rainy season. I regret the path I chose, I regret the things I’ve made a priority in my life. I regret the things I let slip through my fingertips - the friendships and other relationships I’ve lost.

But God was using these things to breathe life into me. Because no matter where we find ourselves in life, He meets us exactly. where. we. are.


He holds us during the storm and He saves us from the weeds. He makes beauty out of them.

Yes, I asked God to give purpose and beauty to my life. And He showed me the beauty in the growing season. The beauty in the “not knowing” season. The beauty in waiting.

The beauty in who He is.

Because no matter the circumstances, He is still good.

So, I’ll take a step into the rain.

Let it remind me that not all gloomy days are bad.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page