top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

God is Still Good


2020 has been a challenge for everyone in one way or another. 

We have all spent three months in quarantine unable to leave our homes.

People have lost their jobs.

Essential workers had to risk their lives going to work everyday.

Parents had to suddenly become teachers.

Teachers are having to learn how to teach online classes.

Students are having to adapt and learn in an online format.

We cannot step outside of our houses without a mask covering our face.

We have to keep germ-ex close by at all times.

We are no longer able to hug or give someone a handshake.


Whether you have had Covid-19 yourself, know someone who has had it, or have had to quarantine because you were exposed to someone who tested positive,

Whether you have suffered damage from hurricanes,

Whether you have experienced wildfires in your city/state,

Wether you still do not have a job and are struggling to make ends meet,

Whether you have experienced the loss of a loved one,

Whether you have suffered a miscarrige,

Whether everyone around you is getting married, engaged, or dating and you’re still single,

Whether everyone around you is pregnant and your struggling to conceive,


Fill in the blank to fit your current situation. 

Whatever struggles you have had and are still struggling with in 2020…


God Is Still Good.


At the beginning of this semester my friends and I started a Bible Study by The Daily Grace Co. called, “Even If”

The study went through the book of Habakkuk, and if you have never read Habakkuk before, I highly recommend it. The book is only three chapters, so it’s a quick read. If you have already read Habakkuk, I encourage you to read it again. 

I promise, whether you open Habakkuk for the first time or the hundredth time, you will be surprised. 

The questions Habakkuk has for the Lord, and the things he is going through are very similar to the questions we have, the feelings we feel, and the things we are going through in 2020. 


Before you leave this blog post to open your Bible and read Habakuk, I’m going to give you a little summary. 


The whole book, Habakkuk is bringing complaints to the Lord hoping for an answer. 

Let’s stop there. How many times have you complained to God this year?


I want to encourage you to really think about the things you have complained to God about this year and jot them down.

Habakkuk says in chapter 1 verses 2-4: 

How long Lord, must I call for help, but you do not listen? Or cry out to you, “Violence!” but you do not save? Why do you tolerate wrongdoing? Destruction and violence are before me; there is strife and conflict abounds. 


Does anything (or everything) Habakkuk is saying here sound familiar to you?


It sure sounds familiar to me. 

When I read Habakkuk for the first time a few months ago I was SHOOK at what I was reading. Everything Habakkuk is saying, everything he is struggling to comprehend. That is the world right now. 


Another thing I want to acknowledge about Habakkuk is his faith. He did not understand why a God who is good, a God who can certainly prevent these things from happening, was letting them happen anyway. Even in Habakkuk’s confusion and frustration, he still believed God was good.


I will stand at my watch and station myself on the ramparts; I will look to see what He will say to me, and what answer I am to give to this complaint. 2:1

Habakkuk waited… He believed the Lord would have an answer for him and He did. 


The Lord responds to Habakkuk in chapter 2 verses 2-3. 

“Then the Lord replied; “Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that a herald may run with it. For the revelation awaits an appointed time; it speaks of the end and will not prove false. Though it linger, wait for it; it will certainly come and not delay.”

The Lord will fufill His promise in His time. 

He won’t be late.

He won’t be early. 

He will be prompt. 


I don’t know what storm you are walking through. I don’t know what you’re struggling with, but I want you to believe despite all that 2020 and this life has thrown at you 

God is Still Good.


I was in one of my English classes the other day, and we were talking about the upcoming presidential election. At one point I said, “You know what? God has already won, and that’s all that matters.”

No matter what you encounter in this sinful world, no matter who wins the presidential election, 


No matter what, God still wins in the end.

He is in control.

He knows exactly how the story ends. 


Please don’t let the sin of the world and the chaos that seems to be your life cause you to forget that God is still good.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11


Cling to that hope today. 


I pray this encourages someone today.

Know that you are not alone. 

You are worthy, and you are so loved! 


Connect with me on insta: laurenvictoria___ (my dms are always open if you need someone to talk to or pray for you.)

Blog: beautifullybroken___


-Your sister and friend, 

Lauren



41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page