top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

Holding on to His promises, and trusting in "the now"


I’m going to be honest, I’m not having the best day today. 


For  those of you who don’t know me let me tell you a little bit about myself. (It might help you understand this post better.)


I am a college student pursuing a degree in English, but my goal is to become a creative writer. Last semester I had the privilege of taking an intro to creativing writing class as an elective. It is my favorite class I have ever taken. I learned so much, and I gained so much confidence about the gift and passion God has given. (Not to mention it was taught by one of my favorite professors EVER!)

Here’s the doozy, the professor who taught my creative writing class is the only English professor on the creative side of the English scale. 

Well, my creative writing professor left my school to start a new season of life. This has been really hard for me because I feel like I won’t ever be able to take a creative class in college again. 

I no longer have anyone to go into the English Department and talk about my craft to someone who gets it.


Today, I became really frustrated as I was preparing for a presentation for one of English classes and I just thought, “THIS IS NOT WHAT I WANT TO DO!”


I’m really bad at grammar. If you read this over enough, you’ll catch many mistakes, but grammar, tand teaching are not a gifts or passions God has planted in my heart.


Then I thought, I have to get through these classes to get to where I want to be, and I feel like a lot of us can relate to the feeling of wanting things RIGHT NOW. 

Unfortunately, that isn’t always God’s plan, and that’s frustrating.


We have to become okay with this because God has a reason why you are where you are right now. God has a reason why I am writing a bazillion essays and reading text books I am mostly not interested in. 


When I found out my creative writer professor was leaving my school my first thought was John 13:7

Which says,

“You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”


I don’t know where you are in your life, what you are waiting on, what curveball God has thrown you. 

Whatever it is, I get you.

I’m right where you are.


But please don’t miss where God has you right now, by focusing on where you are not YET.

God is working, even if it’s not the way you want. God’s plan is perfect, even though we don’t see it all the time.


Sometimes we have to go through things we don’t like or something difficult to get to where we want to be.

But God keeps His promises my friend.


Hold onto your passions

Your goals

Your hopes

Your passions

Your dreams


If God planted the seed, it will come to fruition in His time.

I encourage you to push through because I promise, God will push through for you.


You may not be where you want to be right now, but you are where you need to be.


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page