top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

How to Stay Faithful in The Midst of The Storm


Peace:

1. freedom from disturbance; tranquility

2. A state or period in which there is no war or war has ended.

By now you can probably guess that the topic of this blog is peace. I chose this topic because I haven’t felt true peace in my life for a while now. Recently, it seems as though the devil has been attacking me left and right. I feel like the devil is bashing my head in with a bat.

It sounds dramatic, I know.

If you know me personally, you know I’m known for being dramatic.

But the past few weeks of my life have been really hard, and I find myself praying for peace.


“God, just give me a break.”

First of all, it is not God who keeps piling terrible situation after terrible situation onto my plate.

It is not God who keeps attacking me.

I’m writing this because I know there are so many people that are in the same predicament.

You feel like you can’t catch a break.

You just want to be happy.

You just want something good to happen FOR ONCE.

This whole season of life I’m in right now reminds me of the story of Jesus and the disciples in the boat. (This story takes place in Luke 6 starting at verse 22)


In summary,

Jesus wanted to go to the other side of the lake, so He and the disciples got in a boat and started on their way to the other side. Soon Jesus fell asleep. Suddenly a storm broke out and naturally, the disciples freak out. (Rightfully so) The disciples went to Jesus and woke him up.


The disciples went and woke him, saying, “Master, Master, we’re going to drown! He got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waters; the storm subsided, and all was calm.

“Where is your faith?” He asked his disciples.

Luke 6:24-25

Notice that immediately when the wind picked up and water started to fill the boat, the disciples freaked out and ran to Jesus.

I feel like we can all relate to that. Our immediate response when something goes wrong is to panic; it’s in our human nature.


Also note that the first thing the disciples say to Jesus is,

“We’re going to drown!”

They already decided what was going to happen to them before it happened.

How often do we convince ourselves of an end result before it happens? Our predictions are usually wrong.

The disciples were so filled with fear in the moment that they forgot who Jesus is.


How often do we let fear control our lives to the point that we forget who Jesus is?

The lack of faith we have when fear is present is alarming,


So how do we, in times of fear and uncertainty, run to the Father with faith instead of fear?

How do we find peace in the midst of what seems to be a never-ending storm?


Well, I am currently reading a devotional by Laney Rene called Speak Your Name. It’s about taking the labels and lies of the world and replacing them with who Jesus is and speaking Jesus’ name over those labels that are not who we are. Every day the devo starts out with Jesus is my blank.

Today’s devo was, “Jesus is my peace.”


An exert from the devotional:

Friend, peace is a fruit of His Spirit. Peace is something that has been freely given to you by Jesus and through Jesus. Peace is yours for the taking.


Peace is a gift. All we have to do is accept the gift that has been extended to us.


Here’s another exert from the devotional:

Jesus didn’t leave us, but the absence of His peace is simply because we chose to satisfy the flesh, which is no longer satisfying, and no longer who we are anymore. Satisfying the flesh no longer truly satisfies, because we are now made of His Spirit.


When we lack peace in our decisions, it’s because we tried to mix death with life, and His peace is life.


Fear is not who we are, so it makes sense that when we respond to situations of uncertainty with fear that we will not have peace because peace and fear cannot co-exist.


I don’t know what you’re going through right now.

Maybe you are going through a break-up.

Maybe you are having family problems.

Maybe you are battling a sickness

Maybe you are grieving the loss of a loved one.

Maybe you just lost your job and are struggling to make ends meet.

Maybe you are struggling with something that no one knows about.


Whatever it is, you are not alone. Jesus is with you. (Whether you feel Him or not)

Do not let the fear of the unknown consume you.

Do not decide the ending of a situation before it comes to fruition. We do not have that power.

Run to the Father and accept the gift of peace He so desperately wants you to take.

Hold onto your faith, no matter how small it might be at this moment.


Remember, we are only to struggle for a short time, and whatever you are struggling through right now cannot compare to the joy that is coming.


Spoiler alert: Jesus has already defeated everything we have, are,and will battle with.


"I have told you these things so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world!"

John 16:33


I pray that this meets you wherever you are, whatever you're struggling with.. I pray that you would release your fears and feelings of this world over to Jesus and accept the gift of peace that is waiting for you.

Xox

Lauren


If you need someone to talk to, someone to pray for you, anything...

Please don't hesitate to reach out.

Insta: @laurenvictoria__


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page