top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

Perfectionism


A concept I’ve been thinking about lately is perfectionism.

Anyone who knows me can confirm that I am in fact a perfectionist. I always want things to be perfect. I hold myself to an unrealistic standard.


Recently, God has revealed the concept to me in a different light. I think today (for both men and women) we are so filled with the world and what their idea of perfect is that we forget


1. We are not of this world

2. God isn’t looking for perfection, so we need to stop searching.


I find it very hard in today’s day, especially with social media. We constantly have people telling us we aren’t good enough because we don’t look a certain way, because we don’t have a certain number of likes or followers on social media.


These are the type of situations that have us trying to reach a concept of “perfection” that isn’t even real. Most of the time, we are so deep in trying to fit this mold that society has deemed “perfect” we forget that “perfect” isn’t something God has called us to be.


“for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” ~ Romans‬ ‭3:23‬ ‭


The truth is, the person or “idea” that you are trying to reach may be portraying to be perfect, but the only such thing as perfect is Jesus.


I’ve noticed recently that my Instagram feed looks like a highlight real. That’s not okay. I need to do better.


I want to encourage you,

take off the filters

take off the makeup

stop trying to be someone other than the person God has created you to be.

Stop following the world and follow Jesus.


“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”‭‭~ Psalms‬ ‭139:14‬ ‭‬‬

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.”~ ‭‭Romans‬ ‭12:2‬ ‭‬‬

“As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance.”‭‭~ 1 Peter‬ ‭1:14‬

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” ‭‭~ 2 Corinthians‬ ‭5:17‬ ‭

I think we so often want to be “worshipped” ourselves that we forget even if you have people flooding your comments praising you, or you have 10k Instagram followers. That fulfillment is only going to last a little while, but the fulfillment of Jesus last forever, never having to be refilled again.


Stop chasing perfection. It isn’t real. It isn’t who you are. It is who He is.


Xo

Lauren

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page