top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

The comments and the likes V.s. The reality


So today I need you real quick to look at the closest mirror. 


No I’m serious like  go look in a mirror. 


Ok what’s the first thing you see? 

Do you see a face with acne and scars? 

Or do you see your face flawless with makeup on, your face is covering up the acne because of foundation, your eyes pop from eye liner and mascara, you lips are with lip stick and lip gloss? 


Now I love getting dressed up at times and post a cute picture of me with my full outfit. 


And those comments yes some of them are the best, when they call you gorgeous and beautiful and oh you look like this and that. Now I admit I love those comments. 


But sometimes we obsess over our post or our outfit and makeup a little too much, I admit I do to at times. We want the world to see us as beautiful and gorgeous, laddies common even that cute boy we have a crush on or our husbands. 


But what if they don’t say it, or they don’t even notice. 


We can’t look at that, but instead of the outside why don’t we look on the inside of us?


Why don’t we ask the one who created us how we are?


I know what he would say, he will say I’m not looking at the outward appearance, I’m looking at the heart. 


Your heart has to be beautiful before your outsides can. 

Let me say it again, your heart has to be beautiful before your outsides can. 


But Courtney I see beautiful women and there something, far from no a good inside. 


Well have you ever thought of how much there giving away just to look like that? Money, time, there body maybe, new diets, plastic surgery, not eating enough. 


It’s all bad things that don’t help them at all. 


But what if you spent your time and entertainment on good things that make you beautiful. 


I mean looking into the one who created you. 

“You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭139:13-14‬ ‭NLT‬‬

You were wonderfully made by the most high God. 


Now that’s not all. Read proverbs 31 

She literally is beautiful not just on the outside but on the inside this women was amazing and I strive and I pray to become her and I pray you do to. Proverbs 31 is a mother writing a letter to her son in what he should find in a wife. Now us women need to read that and strive to become her in order for a godly man to be in our lives, even if your married still strive to be her for your husband and children. 

This women had a beautiful heart, she loved her family, but not only that she loved people, the poor and needy she was there, she’s trustworthy and doesn’t gossip, she works hard, she’s kind, wise, she loves the lord with all of her heart. 


“Who can find a virtuous and capable wife? She is more precious than rubies.” ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭31:10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

You see you are more precious than jewels, any jewelry you are worth far more than that. You are worth so much more than money, clothes, makeup, so much more than that. 


“Her husband can trust her, and she will greatly enrich his life. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭31:11-12‬ ‭NLT‬‬

“She is energetic and strong, a hard worker.” ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭31:17‬ ‭NLT 


“She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.” ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭31:25‬ ‭NLT‬‬ ““There are many virtuous and capable women in the world, but you surpass them all!” Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised. Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.” ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭31:29-31‬ ‭NLT‬‬ I know one thing I want my future husband to say this above. I want him to look at me not just the outside but the inside, I want him and my friends and family to see God in me, to see kindness, patience, love, wisdom, strength, extra I want them to see so much more than my outside appearance but my insides of my heart.  How do we work toward that?, well we can’t do it on our own, first we ask God to check our hearts, to pure and wash it of any sin, and then to work towards becoming who we need to be from it, then we need to ask him what do I need to improve being more slow to anger, more patients, being more kind then mean at that person at work, school, maybe being more helpful at home, listening to someone instead of accusing or even fixing a problem when the friend just needs someone to listen the them.  Ask God and he will test you during it but you need to be prepared for it, read his word, pray for strength, wisdoms and discernment, pray for peace and a loving heart. Pray for heart checks and see what you need to strive to achieve and work towards, then go to someone to keep you accountable like a parent, your friend, a mentor so they can keep you accountable and if you fall they can help you back up.  “God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭46:5‬ ‭NIV‬‬ God is within you if you ask him to be in you and you will face whatever giant you face.  You always have to be striving for a better version of yourself, if not then you won’t be going nowhere and it ends in nothing.  You are always learning, always moving, you are always changing even the world changes but with God you can change for the better, even when the world is changing for the worst.  You know I find kindness attractive in a man, anyone else ?  I also find God attractive in him to,  I find strength but the inside and outside, I find the fruits of the spirit attractive. But I want someone to look at me like that to, not just attractive on the outside but on the inside also.  I want to be gentle in spirit, quiet, hopeful, faithfulness (still working on this one) and fearless (still working on the fear one also)   “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” ‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭3:3-4‬ ‭NIV‬‬ That’s what I pray to strive for a women of beauty in God and I pray you can also whether  your waiting for the man That God wants you to be with , or your current friends, family, the people on the streets and even social media.  Now I’m not saying never wear makeup and that cute dress ever again but maybe if it’s consuming you try to go without it for 30 days (you got this) basically your fasting but not food but from makeup and get on the surface of who God says you are, and see how it feels . It will feel odd at first if your used to wearing it everyday but afterwards it feel like a weight is lifted off and your free finally from being you, just you on the insides that shows on the outside also.  I even dare you to start posting more no makeup, no filter photos(yes I’m going there) with you acne, scars, whatever it’s still beautiful because of your insides and express yourself  I’ve been doing this more I’ve been taking more photos of no makeup (a bit of lipstick I admit) but I’m learning to embrace myself even with a cute outfit that would go great with makeup but I’m learning I don’t need it to look great all the time because I am great anyways because my God said I am good when he created me and he says that to you to.  So go I dare you to and get to the surface and strive for a beautiful inside, and the best part is it’s free no paying money, nope, no going to get that outfit or skin creams or makeup, it’s completely free all you need to sacrifice is your time, your heart to change, and your vulnerability yes you need to get vulnerable but it’s the best person to be because it shows your human and real. 


So know your beautiful no matter what. Inside and out. 


Your God made you gorgeous and good, he made you to be loving, kind, patient, quiet but strong, he made you enough, worthy, lovely, admirable, he made you beautiful. 

You don’t need people of the world telling you this, you need your daddy telling you this and he is. 

He’s saying your beautiful and the apple to me eye. 


“In a desert land he found him, in a barren and howling waste. He shielded him and cared for him; he guarded him as the apple of his eye,” ‭‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭32:10‬ ‭NIV‬‬

“For this is what the Lord Almighty says: “After the Glorious One has sent me against the nations that have plundered you—for whoever touches you touches the apple of his eye—” ‭‭Zechariah‬ ‭2:8‬ ‭NIV‬‬

You are cherished, protected, loved, his beautiful creation, and so much more than what anyone says. 


So before anything else know that what God calls you is far more important than what a comment, a like on social media, what anyone says. 

But don’t be lazy and not strive to become the best version of yourself, become the Ruth, Esther, Mary, proverbs 31 women, extra,   study them and learn from them, pray to become them, pray for there beautiful insides to go into your insides. Become your own beautiful in Christ. 






10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page