top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

The New Normal


This morning as I was going through my Timehop I came across a tweet that I tweeted a year ago today. 


It said this, 

“Never be afraid to trust an unknown future to a known God.” ~Corrie ten Boom


I feel like that is the perfect quote to start off this blog post. 


Wether you are returning to college for another semester. 

Starting your freshman year of college 

Starting your senior year of high school 

If you’re a teacher. 

If you’re a parent of a child going to school.


This is for you. 


This school year is going to look a lot different for all of us. My friends and I talk all the time about how we literally don’t know what it’s going to look like when we step foot back on campus. 


When we step foot in the classroom 

For those of us who have to open up our laptop from home. 

What is it going to look like? 

I don’t have the answer, but I wish I did. 


2020 has been CRAZY! 


But here’s the thing, we cannot live in fear of the what if’s. 

We cannot control what others do. 

The only thing we can control is ourselves. 


Life doesn’t just STOP when a pandemic happens, or when people stop following the rules. 


We have to keep living, and I truly believe that’s what the world is missing right now. 


“Living” might look a little different than it did back in February. 


Masks, social distancing, thermometers, hand sanitizer EVERYWHERE. 


Just because things changed doesn’t mean you stop. 


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:34‬ ‭NIV‬‬


Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭11:28‬ ‭NIV‬‬


God is fully aware of everything that is happening. 


and I know it’s hard to just say, “okay God, I’m not gonna worry about going back to school or work because I trust you.” 


I have an anxiety disorder. I know how hard that is. 


I’m also someone who hates change. 

Someone who always wants to KNOW. 

Someone who wants to have control. 


but guess what?

1. Change is inevitable. 

2. It is impossible for us to know EVERYTHING. It is not our place, and it is not for us to know. 

3. We will never have full control. 


The more you fight your worry

The more you panic 

The more you listen to the lies of the enemy. 

The more you will drift from God. 


This year has not been easy. 

These next few months will not be easy


but friend, God is always one step ahead of you. 

You just have to take His outstretched hand. 


“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

‭‭John‬ ‭16:33‬ ‭NIV‬‬


I hope this post encourages you today. I hope you will lean into the peace that God has laid out in front of you in me. 


Praying for you all as you begin your school year. Praying for you all as you step into your workplace, as you make decisions, and as you fight the fear that so tightly entangles is all. 


If there is one thing I hope you gained from this blog post it would be this: 


live


because here, right now, is our new normal. 

Don’t let the “newness” keep you from missing out on what God is doing in you and through you right now.


xoxo,

lauren 







58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page