top of page
  • encouragingwomen20

The Power of Prayer


I’ve never been someone that prays often. Sure, I’ve prayed in church and with my friends, but I have never been the type to pray alone. In a way, I always thought it was kinda weird. You sit there with your eyes closed telling God what’s on your mind. Within the times that I have prayed, I’ve spoken out loud to make sure God hears me. Sometimes I’m lost for words, sometimes I pray for myself, while other times I pray for other people.


I can think of one instance where it was super awkward. I was invited to run the service at my church one morning. While I was planning the service, I found myself taking prayers from the internet and citing them of course in the bulletin. I had heard that that is actually common among pastors when they’re planning the service. One of the other parts that was awkward for me, was leading the “pastoral prayer.” This involved asking everyone for their joys and concerns, writing them down, and thinking of a prayer off the top of my head with music playing in the background. While I was leading the prayer, I tried to think about what I’ve heard our old pastor say in the past. The overall prayer was only a few minutes, and to be completely honest, I’m glad I was able to make it through without showing any signs of nerves or showing that I was not confident in what I was saying.


One of the things I learned from that situation was that I shouldn’t have been nervous, and I should’ve just let God guide me with what to say. Also, God doesn’t care if your prayer is out loud or in your head. It’s also okay to pray for yourself too, as God does say to cast all of your cares on Him. Jesus also taught us to pray in the bible with the Lord’s prayer. It’s also important to thank God in your prayers for what He has done and what is yet to come. The truth is, is that God has big plans for us. We have to trust that as Christians, so we should thank him for that when we pray and when we talk to him.


Lastly, you shouldn’t feel awkward when you pray because God will listen to you anyway. He loves us unconditionally and that’s what He’s there for. He will listen to our prayers and He’s always there for us.


Even through the power of prayer.


“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God,” -Philippians 4:6



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page